Route 1 – Fosse Meadows, High Cross, Wigston Parva, Sharnford

Route 1 - The Roman History of Blaby District

Download the leaflet here: route 1 leaflet.

Follow the route via the Go Jauntly app.

This walk is perfect for lovers of older history and countryside views. Route 1 meanders across 6 miles of mainly open Leicestershire countryside with a stop in the picturesque village of Sharnford where you can stop for a meal if you like. The focal point of the route is the High Cross Monument, a place marker at the crossroads of the two biggest Roman Roads in the country: the Fosse Way and Watling Street. Learn about the Roman history of Blaby District with dashings of later history.


  • Fosse Meadows
  • High Cross
  • Wigston Parva
  • Sharnford

high cross


Distance as the crow flies: 6 miles or 9.6 kilometres

Transport: Park at Fosse Meadows Car Park or use Arriva X55 and X84 services from Leicester.

Why not start or end your walk with a cup of tea, iced coffee or delicious snack?

Mason's Il Cappo del Caffe coffee van is permanently based at Fosse Meadows and is a big favourite with regular walkers and visitors to the meadows. Whatever the weather you can buy a hot drink for a much needed warm up or if you're enjoying a sunny day take a break with an iced drink or lolly. 

Mason coffee van

In Sharnford choose from The Bricklayers or the Sharnford Arms for a well deserved pint mid walk. 

Where to walk next? 

Close by Heritage Walk 2 taking in Aston Flamville, Elmesthorpe, Stoney Stanton, Sapcote and Sharnford and Heritage Walk 3 Stoney Stanton, Croft and Stoney Cove are beautiful routes both with the chance to stop for lunch at Stoney Cove's Nemos or Stanton Lake's Lakeside Bar and Bistro overlooking the lake. 

Or further afield why not try Heritage Walk 10 which takes in Blaby, Countesthorpe, Whetstone, Cosby and Littlethorpe taking in the history, idilyic villages and plenty of places to stop for a bite to eat.

Find out more about Sharnford's history:

On the Sharnford Parish Council website you can hear audio on life in the village


Last updated 8 June 2023